Make your own free website on Tripod.com

[SRP Home]

Boat Building

Canadian Canoe Museum http://www.canoemuseum.net/

The Wooden Canoe Heritage Association, Ltd. http://www.wcha.org/
A non-profit membership association devoted to preserving, studying, building, restoring and using wood, wood-canvas, cedar strip and birchbark canoes, and to disseminating information about canoeing heritage in North America.

The Boat Building Community http://boatbuilding.com/
  & "The shape of the canoe" http://boatbuilding.com/content/Redwing.html

Minnesota Canoe Association http://www.canoe-kayak.org/

Messing About In Boats http://www.by-the-sea.com/messingaboutinboats/

Concrete Canoe Competition: Colleges compete in regional events with the winners advancing to a national competition. The schools design, build, and race canoes made out of concrete. http://www.stuorg.iastate.edu/asce/Canoe.htm & http://www.masterbuilders.com/MB/static/canoe/default.htm

The Great Cardboard Boat Regatta! http://www.gcbr.com/

Designs, Plans, Kits

Bear Mountain Boats - strip canoe and kayak plans http://www.bearmountainboats.com

Chesapeake Light Craft - stitch-n-glue kayak kits and plans http://www.clcboats.com/

Guillemot Kayaks http://www.guillemot-kayaks.com
- wooden sea kayak plans http://www.KayakPlans.com/c

Shearwater Boats, Eric Schade http://www.shearwater-boats.com/

Laughing Loon - woodstrip canoes & kayaks, finished boats & plans http://www.LaughingLoon.com

Newfound Woodworks - Hybrid Kayak Kits http://www.newfound.com

Pygmy Boats - stitch-n-glue kayak (and canoe) kits http://www.pygmyboats.com

Epoxies

(check out their information on boatbuilding)

System Three Epoxies http://www.systemthree.com/

West System Epoxy Products http://www.westsystem.com/

Canoe & Kayak Builders

Wood Song Canoes, works of art by Phillip Greene (See also If Money Were No Object, an article from Canoe & Kayak Magazine)
(And you'll need a Wildwood Paddle by Peter Puddicombe, park ranger at Cache Bay ranger station off Saganaga Lake, BWCA/Quetico)

The Double Helix, a 2- person kayak designed by Nick Schade (Guillemot Kayaks) and built for The Great Mississippi River Race for Rett Syndrome by Clark Eid. http://www.dreamkeeper.org/flagship.htm

Building a 20 ft. Micmac, David Hazen http://www.cyberis.net/~innercom/Canoe/journal.html

Geodesic Canoes, Platt Monfort's - skin-on-frame http://www.gaboats.com

One Ocean Kayaks, Vaclav Stejskal - woodstrip kayak plans & information - "37MB of kayak building instructions, tips, material information and hundreds of photos" http://oneoceankayaks.com/

Arctic Kayaks, arctic anthropologist David Zimmerly http://www.arctickayaks.com/

Traditional Arctic Skinboats, Harvey Golden http://home.pacifier.com/~qayaq/

Spiritline Kayaks, Corey Freedman http://www.skinboats.com/

Baidarka Mailing List searchable archive http://rtpnet.org/robroy/baidarka/

Native WaterCraft Society, Wolfgang Brinck (editor) http://www.mixweb.com/nativewater

Dan's Canoe & Sea Kayak Site http://www.public.iastate.edu/~djburden/homepage.html

The Boat Shop http://members.tripod.com/~R_S_D_/boatshop.html

Nathan's Boats http://www.nathansboats.com
(Great website, nice boats, by my nephew).